Origami

Hello Kitty Origami Bento Box

For my first origami post, I am going to share my Hello Kitty bento box! My husband gave me this little kit as part of a Christmas present. When I first looked at it, I thought it was just Hello Kitty themed paper. To my surprise it was everything I needed to make my own cute bento box.

Bento (弁当 bentō ?) is a single-portion takeout or home-packed meal common in Japanese cuisine. A traditional bento holds rice, fish or meat, with pickled or cooked vegetables, usually in a box-shaped container.

My husband picked this up from one of my favorite stores here, World of Mirth.
This post will showcase the finished products of this project.

bento01

Luckily, I don’t usually read the instructions, I just follow the pictures. They marked the paper with fold lines, so it was relatively easy to follow along without the words. Each paper or segment of paper was marked with a star to let you know which side of the paper to use and how you should be holding the paper.

bento02
Instructions in Japanese!
bento03
I can’t read them!
bento05
I believe this piece of paper was included as a placemat. No instructions listed for it.

I started off with the box base and lid. They were fairly easy to make. Both had the same instructions with the lid being just slightly bigger so it can fit over the base.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The next piece I worked on was making the Hello Kitty rice ball. The ears are separate and will get glued on later.

Next, I made the desert cup. This will hold the strawberries!

bento10
Paper for desert cup.
bento17
Completed desert cup. It’s a wonderful day!

The strawberries were next. I didn’t get a good picture of the paper, but it had the two papers for the strawberries and the tomago (egg).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

bento21
Completed tomago (scrambled egg sushi).
bento22
Paper for the shrimp tempura and lettuce leaf decoration.

What’s a bento box with out some shrimp tempura!
And a lettuce leaf to make the box look fancy!

This is the paper for the bacon, Hello Kitty’s box, and the fork and spoon handles.
I made the fork and spoon next.

bento30

There was also a silver piece of paper to make the actual utensil parts.

Since I had the bacon paper ready, I made the asparagus pieces next and then wrapped them in the bacon paper. A little glue was needed to keep the asparagus pieces rolled and  the bacon wrapped around them snugly.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Completed the rice ball by gluing the ears and bow on. Now it looks like Hello Kitty!

Since the hotdog takos (octopus) are my favorite because they are so cute, I made them last. One has a little nori (seaweed) headband! Super Kawaii! They are so happy!

Now I can arrange the box in many different ways! Looks good enough to eat!
I am also able to fit everything inside for storage.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am still pretty happy & excited about how they all turned out. I made everything over a few nights. It was a nice way to just relax after I had put my lil baby bunting to sleep.
Can’t wait until the next origami adventure!

Leave a Reply

