Baby Talk · Boxes

The Honest Company Discovery Kits

The Honest Company was co-founded by Jessica Alba. I’ve seen their products in stores like Target, Walmart, and Babies-R-Us. So far, the only thing I’ve tried out are their baby wipes. I bought a travel pack as they were fairly cheaper than some of the other travel packs I have seen. Browsing through Facebook, Honest Co. ads would occasionally pop up. One ad just happened to grab my attention. The ad was for free baby samples. I recently received my Amazon Welcome Box and I was still excited for free things, so, I decided to check it out.


The Honest Company Discovery Kits

What is it? The Honest Company offers two Discovery Kits that provide samples of their products that are offered in their subscription bundles.

You may need to create an account in order to see the discovery kit options. Creating an account is free. Once you create an account, the following discovery kit options will be available: Diapers & Wipes Kit and Essentials Kit. You will have the option to choose one or both kits.

How much does it cost? The kits cost $5.95 to ship. So, whether you choose one of both, you pay $5.95. I chose both as it seemed to be the most cost efficient.

How long does it take to ship?  I ordered the kits on January 30, 2017. They shipped January 31, 2017 and I received them on February 1, 2017.

What comes in it? The Honest Company Discovery Kits

The Diapers and Wipes Kit comes with a pack of 7 diapers and a travel pack of 10 wipes. The Essentials Kit includes travel sizes of 5 of their personal care and home cleaning essentials.

I received both kits in one box.discoverykits

When you add the Diapers & Wipes Discovery Kit to your cart, they allow you to choose the gender of the baby, size of the diaper (they go by weight), and up to 6 prints that you would like. It seems as though the trial packages are pre-made as the one I received did not include all of the prints I requested. The wipes package is a standard travel size and will fit most travel wipes containers.

diapersandwipeskit

The Essentials Discovery Kit contains travel sizes of Honest Company’s face & body lotion, hand soap, shampoo & body wash, multi-surface cleaner, and a healing balm. Full product descriptions are available when you choose the kit.

essentialskit

Is there a catch? In a way. The discovery kits are meant for you to try samples of their products and then decide if you wish to continue purchasing from them online through subscriptions boxes. When you have your discovery kits shipped, they automatically enroll  you into a subscription for their Diapers & Wipes Bundle and their Essentials Bundle. You have seven (7) days after you receive your discovery kits to cancel the bundle subscriptions. If you do not, they will ship your bundle subscriptions and your card will be charged accordingly. You are able to cancel online or over the phone. Online is much simpler. They will also give you options to configure your bundles. You can change the frequency of products shipped, the products included, etc.


All in all, I think this is a good way to try out their products and see if their bundle subscriptions are right for you. I did not continue with either subscription since we typically use cloth diapers and only occasionally use disposables for long trips away from home. As for the essentials, I think after I try them out, I’d rather just buy them from Target or Walmart as needed. I don’t foresee myself using enough of their products to warrant a full subscription.

If you decide to try our their discovery kits, and don’t think it is right for you, just don’t forget to cancel the subscriptions!

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Honest Company Discovery Kits

Leave a Reply

